Ohmygosh! The Nutcracker!

10 Dec

I’ve been a little MIA lately, and for that I apologize. Like I said in this post here, grad school has been keeping me exceptionally busy. Well, really that’s the understatement of the year.

This semester was overwhelmingly insane because I had a midpoint thesis proposal, plus three really intense studio classes. To you non-art-grad-school folks, that translates to: “You’re midway through your program, so put everything you’ve done on display for us, we’ll rip it (and your soul) apart limb from limb, and then you have to pull it together to do a presentation on your proposed thesis and HOPE that we think it’s a good idea… or it’s back to the drawing board for YOU, missy!” All of this whilst also trying to juggle a good 80+ hours of schoolwork a week. Whew!

Luckily for me, I passed my midpoint, and my thesis was approved. I’m in my final week of the semester, and I have somehow managed to make it through unscathed and mentally intact. My social life is left wanting though, unsurprisingly. It also affected how often I could go to ballet, much to my chagrin. Anyway, I made it through with excessive amounts of take away food (because I never had groceries), lots of caffeine, and hundreds of hours of streaming Netflix.

Now that I see the light at the end of the tunnel, my first big ballet excitement of the season is going to see the San Francisco Ballet’s The Nutcracker this Sunday for a friend’s birthday celebration. I haven’t seen the Nutcracker since probably 2008 or so, so I’m pretty excited about it. It’s a little stressful since it’s happening right smack in the middle of finals, but… eh. Why not live dangerously?

2 Responses to “Ohmygosh! The Nutcracker!”

  1. Hannah January 4, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    congrats on your thesis! Stay strong. You can do it! Update when you can. : )

    • Blondie January 16, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

      Thank you! I’ve got lots of work to do, but I want to be able to keep ballet up all the while. It’s definitely my “zen” time where I can just switch off my brain!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.